Alpine Rescue & Mountain Emergency Medicine

The History of ICAR MedCom

“I’m very happy that this commission has survived, considering the difficulties it experienced  becoming a commission of world importance for Mountain Emergency Medicine.

This would not have been possible without the friendship and collaboration of old and present members of the Commission: I wish to express my thanks! Thank you friends.”

Urs Wiget (August 2019)

Presidents of the ICAR Medical Commission

John Ellerton (UK)

2017 - present

Fidel Elsensohn (AT)

2009 - 2017

Hermann Brugger (IT)

2001 -2009

Urs Wiget (CH)

1989 - 2001

Gogi Neureuther (GER)

1964 - 1989

Rudi Campell (CH)

1949 - 1964